Draft Spotlight: Brandon Brooks

Brooks is an interesting player to watch in the upcoming draft. The smaller-school guard just might make it big.

For every Andrew Luck and RG3, for every player at a high-profile position who dominates the headlines and seems destined for the top of the draft, there are many others like Brandon Brooks, talented players shining at lesser-known positions. Brooks performed well at his recent pro day and was just named a draft “riser” by ESPN guru Mel Kiper, but he still isn’t quite sure where and when he’ll be drafted.

Round Two? Round Three? Even later? It’s anyone’s guess.

Such is the reality of being an offensive guard at a Mid-American Conference school (Miami of Ohio), away from the hype and hysteria of bigger schools and brand names. Still, Brooks has remained upbeat, focusing on what he can control and seeming to ignore everything else. It’s that same mindset coupled with some great measurables (6-5, 353, sub 5-second 40-yard dash) and impressive versatility (he’s played every position on the offensive line) that could make him a solid pick for some team in April. In whichever round that may be.

Here are a few thoughts from Brooks as the draft approaches. Everything else will appear in the book.

What’s this whole draft process like?

It’s a crazy experience and a crazy time in my life. I’m just trying to understand that – one, I’m blessed and a lot of people don’t have the same opportunities. And two, that I just need to have good people around me. I feel that if you have a solid group around you, they will always keep you on the straight and narrow.

Did your pro day go about as well as you could hope for?

Yeah it really did. At this point, I had a little chip on my shoulder after not getting invited to the combine. I felt like not getting invited to combine made me want to prove them wrong and make them see I was supposed to be there.

Have you thought about what it will be like on draft day when you hear your name called and your lifelong dream comes true?

I haven’t. I’m sure I won’t be able to be put in words how joyful (I’ll feel) and it’s hard to put in words right now. I’ll just be overjoyed, it’s a lifelong dream come true. How many times does someone who wants something so bad…How many times does it happen the way you want it to?

Many thanks to Brandon for the interview minutes amid his hectic schedule of draft workouts and preparation. Listen for his name on draft day. 

Leave a comment